media player in Google Chrome

Recently i had started using chrome on Window’s laptop where i had installed VLC played for playing multi-media contents. VLC is really cool and very fast as compared to real player. Real player seems to have to lot of features  to manipulate video contents; but it is really slow ( I think real player should work on making it more efficient rather than adding two many features).

anyway, i had one of media file on network which i wanted to save locally on my local disk; but as soon as i was clicking the video link from Google Chrome, it was opening VLC and start playing it; i had no clue, how to save it on local disk; i checked various options on VLC and could not find anything quickly; To save the video i had open the same link in Internet explorer, which asked me whether i want to open the file or save the file and that is the way i was able to save the file on my local disk.

About Prabhu Srivastava

I have more than 14 years experience in all phases of software product development;I have done my engineering in Computer Science from REC Allahabad and I am an alumnus of Indian institute of Management, Bangalore. I am co-founder of NavankurIT.in, a company specialized in providing open source solutions to MSMEs. I can be reached at prabhu@navankurit.in.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment